• Akin L. Mabogunje (2001 - 2005) is Chancellor of Bells University of Technology; Chairman of the Presidential Technical Board of the Federal Mortgage Bank of Nigeria; Chair of the Board of Trustees, Ijebu-Ode Development Board for Poverty Reduction; Foreign Associate of the United States National Academy of Sciences; former Executive Chair of the Development Policy Centre, Ibadan; and an internationally renowned African development scholar who has published and lectured widely on urban management, rural development, and spatial perspectives in the development process.

  • Mary Houghton (2001 - 2004) is President and Director of Shorebank Corporation in Chicago, a commercial bank holding company with US$1.6 billion in assets organised to implement community development strategies in targeted urban neighbourhoods and rural areas, and an adviser to private banks and microcredit lending institutions in developing and transition countries.

  • Richard Webb (2001 - 2005) is the President of Banco Latino in Lima, Peru; former Director of the Instituto Cuanto; former President of the Central Bank of Peru; and a widely published scholar on public policy, income distribution, poverty and economic reform.

  • Somsook Boonyabancha (2001 - 2004) is Director of the Community Organisations Development Institute of the National Housing Authority of Thailand; Advisor to the Crown Property Bureau on slum improvement and land-sharing; and Secretary General of the Asian Coalition for Housing Rights, a regional coalition of NGOs, community organisations and professionals based in Bangkok,Thailand.


Back to top